I’m finally home! Not like I’ve been held hostage in DC or anything, but it’s just between making the decision, packing up my life, shipping it back, retrieving it and unpacking it, it feels like a lifetime. I owe a HUGE thanks to my parents who have helped finance this endeavor, and also to the Russian mob who helped ensure that my car made it back to Texas in one piece.

Seriously…for a good twelve hours I was sure my car was being used in some sort of human trafficking ring. I dropped it off in a non-descript parking lot behind a non-descript office building and basically handed the key over before climbing into an unmarked black SUV with an (attractive) Russian stranger. It had ALL the hallmarks of an excellent episode of Law and Order: SUV or one of Liam Neeson’s “Taken” movies. I even texted my friend Emily that I may or may not be in the process of being human trafficked.

Luckily, my car made it to Texas (and so did I). Obviously, I’m thrilled to be back and my taco intake has been increased by 2,000%. I think the lady at Taco Delite knows me on sight now. I’m also readjusting to freeway driving where the speed limit is 70 MPH (translation 80 MPH). All in all, it’s going well. The cat has come down from her hiding place above the fridge and is learning to love the new place.

photo

Ok, this window is pretty awesome.

I’m still job-hunting, and, in the meantime, watching free TV. This Criminal Flashpoint Cold Case Minds show is pretty good!

